Maynilad donates algae-control equipment for Laguna Lake to Muntinlupa City LGU


West Zone concessionaire Maynilad Water Services Inc., (Maynilad) is donating several solar-powered paddle wheels and a water quality analyzer equipment to the local government of Muntinlupa City to help mitigate algal bloom episodes in Laguna Lake.

The paddle wheels work by increasing oxygen levels in the lake’s raw water, which get depleted during algal bloom episodes. Meanwhile, the water quality analyzer is a probing device that measures specific water quality parameters to help identify increasing algae presence in the lake, thus allowing for early interventions to manage proliferation that can lead to taste and odor issues in the water supply.

Laguna Lake is the primary raw water source of Maynilad for customers in the southern part of its concession, including Muntinlupa City. Algal blooms in the lake often constrain the company to reduce water production to thoroughly treat the raw water and maintain potability. The Muntinlupa LGU also seeks to prevent algal blooms, as these cause oxygen depletion and turbidity in the lake water that can lead to fish kill.

“We’re partnering with all Laguna Lake stakeholders so we can protect the lake and ensure its sustainability as a source for drinking water. Our donation of these equipment to the Muntinlupa LGU is part of this effort, which will also involve the Laguna Lake Development Authority,” said Maynilad Quality, Sustainability and Resiliency Head Atty. Roel S. Espiritu.

The water company is also conducting regular clean-up of Laguna Lake tributaries with the help of volunteers from local communities to help preserve the water quality of the lake.

Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. Its service area includes the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres and Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas, and Malabon, all in Metro Manila; and the cities of Cavite, Bacoor, and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta, and Rosario, all in the province of Cavite.